President Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday evening ordered for extension of the deadline for issuance of new generation passports ‘e-passport’ from August 31st 2019 to March 1st 2020.

“The directive has in effect, extended the deadline for travel on new e-passport to 1st March 2020, for all Kenyans. Kenyans can, therefore, travel on their current (old blue) passports until 1st March 2020.” Government Spokesman Col. Rtd Cyrus Oguna,

The directive from the President also indicated that the Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i and Foreign Affairs  Monica Juma are to work with foreign government agencies to issue visas to Kenyans on the  current passports.

Kenyans have been advised to take advantage of this extension so as to avoid the last minute rush.