President Uhuru Kenyatta has confirmed 16 more coronavirus cases taking the national total to 158.

He said the country had since tested a total of 4,277 people. Of the 158 cases, four had fully recovered and another six succumbed to the highly-infectious disease.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has declared the cessation of movement in Nairobi, Kilifi, Kwale and Mombasa Counties for 21 days.

The Nairobi directive starts today (Monday) at 7 pm while that of the other counties will begin from Wednesday.

Uhuru said a majority of people who have contracted the disease are Nairobi residents, Kilifi, Kwale and Mombasa counties.

The President said 82 per cent of Covid-19 have been in Nairobi and 14 per cent have been in the other Coastal counties.

Uhuru said there shall be a secession of all movement by road, rail or area in and out of Nairobi Metropolitan area as well as the counties of Kilifi, Kwale and Mombasa counties.

Uhuru said the wearing of masks and washing will save lives adding that Kenyans must stick to measures to curb the spread.