Devolution brought governance close to the citizens by bringing the three arms of governance to the county level. This is as a result of the 2010 constitution which aimed at promoting governance and development throughout the country.

Despite all these, local bureaucrats at the county level have been on the news severally with allegations of siphoning the state coffers. This has led to stagnated or no development at all that most citizens see no purpose in the devolved government. Whereas most governors and other county officials are out in their greed spree, there is a lot who are aimed at service delivery, they are out giving bursaries to needy students, promote local tourism, creating a conducive environment for businesses to thrive, constructing roads, and stadiums. These as set them apart from the majority corrupt and non-performers.

A research/survey was conducted by Africa Governance and Research Foundation to ascertain which governors rank best and they came up with the results of the County Service Delivery and was able to rank all the 47 governors.

The study also focused on the County Integrated Development Plan (CIPD), budgeting, and public participation, and the governors were ranked as follows;

1. Kakamega County- Wycliffe Oparanya with 88.7%

2. Makueni County- Kivutha Kibwana with 86.4%

3. Kwale County- Salim Mvurya with 84.3%

4. Machakos County- Alfred Mutua with 77.6

5. Kitui County- Charity Ngilu with 76.7%

6. Kirinyaga County- Anne Waiguru with 74.8

7. Nyandarua County – Francis Kimemia with 72.2%

8. Laikipia County- Ndiritu Muriithi with 71.2%

9. Meru County- Kiraitu Murungi with 70.7%

10. Turkana County- Josephat Nanok with 69.4.4%

11. Vihiga County- Wilbur Ottichilo with 68.8

12. Kisumu County- Prof Peter Anyang Nyong’o with 67.7

13. Narok County- Samuel Tunai with 66.0%

14. West Pokot County – John Lonyangapuo with 66.4%

15. Muranga County- Mwangi wa Iria with 64.1%

16. Migori County – Zacharia Obado with 61.7%

17. Kisii County– James Ongwae with 59.4%

18. Bungoma County – Wycliffe Wangamati with 58.8%

19. Elgeyo Marakwet County – Alex Tolgos with 57.9%

20. Mandera County– Ali Ibrahim Roba with 56.4%

21. Nakuru County- Lee Kinyajui with 55.7%

22. Nairobi County – Mike Sonko with 54.5%

23. Mombasa County- Ali Hassan Joho with 54.0%

24. Kericho County – Paul Chepkwony with 53.4%

25. Tharaka Nithi County – Onesmus Njuki with 52.5%

26. Kiambu County –with 51.2%

27. Kajiado County – Joseph Ole Lenku with 50.4%

28. Uasin Gishu County -Jackson Mandago with 49.9%

29. TransNzoia County– Patrick Khaemba with 48.1%

30. Kilifi County – Amason Kingi with 47.7%

31. Marsabit County- Mohamud Mohamed Ali with 46.7%

32. Isiolo County– Mohammed Abdi Kuti with 45.2%

33. Nandi County- Stephen Sang with 44.7%

34. Busia County- Sospeter Ojaamong with 44.2%

35. Bomet County- Joyce Laboso with 43.6%

36. Tana River County – Dhadho Godhana with 42.9%

37. Baringo County- Stanley Kiptis with 41.1%

38. Samburu County– Moses Kasaine Lenolkulal with 40.7%

39. Lamu County– Fahim Twaha with 39.1%

40. Embu County– Martin Wambora with 38.5%

41. Nyamira County- John Nyagarama with 38.2%

42. Garissa County– Bunow Ali Korane with 37.8%

43. Taita Taveta County- Granton Samboja with 36.6%

44. Siaya County– Cornel Rasanga with 35.3%

45. Nyeri County– Mutahi Kahiga with 34.5%

46. Wajir County– Mohamed Abdi with 32.6%

47. Homabay County – Cyprian Awiti with 33.1%


The study did not focus on corruption cases but service delivery/performance to Kenyans.

Do you have an interesting story or news that you would like us to publish, reach out to us on or WhatsApp 0741540642