President Uhuru Kenyatta on COVID-19 new measuers

Interior Cabinet Secretary (CS) Fred Matiang’I has published a list of personnel classified as essential services providers who will not be affected by the newly-revised curfew hours.

This is after President Uhuru Kenyatta last week ordered a review of essential service providers citing widespread abuse of the privilege for essential workers.

On Friday, March 26, 2021, President Kenyatta asked the Interior Ministry to vet and provide a new list of essential service providers.

Here is the list of the new essential service providers.

Medical professionals
Health workers
National security officers
Licensed pharmaceutical companies
Licensed media houses and broadcasters
Kenya Railways Corporation staff
Kenya Ports Authority staff
Kenya Pipeline Corporation staff
Kenya Pipeline Company and distribution staff
Water service providers
Kenya Revenue Authority staff
Kenya Airport Authority staff
Kenya Airways staff
Kenya Civil Aviation Authority staff
Licensed supermarkets and mini markets and supermarkets
Fire brigade and emergency response services
Licensed security firms
Postal courier services
Retailers of petroleum and oil products
Agricultural and manufacturing sector, includes those in food and farm produce processors, and distributors
Last week, President Kenyatta declared five counties a diseased-zone and ordered cessation of movement in and out of the area. The affected counties are Nairobi, Machakos, Kiambu, Kajiado and Nakuru.

In the five counties, he also reviewed the curfew hours from 10 pm- 4 am to 8 pm to 4 am.